Who will eat the turkey leg now that your gone?

Thanksgiving has always been just another day for us. For us everyday is thanksgiving a day to be thankful so I’m sorry if I don’t get overly festive about putting out 20 different food dishes only to have the leftovers thrown out.
This year is my first Thanksgiving without my dad. After my mom passed away in 2011 it became my pleasure to look after my dad. And share our table everyday with him. My dad had his meal schedule in check. He would arrive early at my brothers for my sister in laws food. Then mid afternoon come by my house for more food. I always saved the turkey leg for him. Last Thanksgiving was different because I traveled to see my sister in Tampa and pickup a companion for my dad, Blackie, a black hot dog. However the turkey was still placed in the oven for when I got back and my dad met me at my house. Little did I know it would be our last Thanksgiving together. I will cherish our memories.

img_1113

8 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you 1 Thessalonians 5:18 (New King James Version)

Is it possible to be thankful today when my heart is hurting?

Absolutely in fact it’s Gods will for my life. A thankful heart is a healing heart. I am so thankful for the time I had with my dad even though I feel it was a short time. Even though I feel like his life was cut short at only 69 years old. These are all feelings my preconceived thoughts of how I thought life would be but I know that I can not move forward and live in these feelings. So I hold onto to knowing that God in all HIS wisdom has set our time here on this earth.

Job 14:5-7 (NLV)
5 A man’s days are numbered. You know the number of his months. He cannot live longer than the time You have set.

Everyday here on earth is a day I’m closer to being reunited with him and my loved ones. See I didn’t lose my father. I hate when those word come out of my mouth. He isn’t lost. I know exactly where he is, in Heaven. And the table set before him today in the presence of my Savior makes my heart smile.
Maybe my dog can eat the turkey leg or maybe its time to switch to turkey breast.

Be Blessed

Gloria

